Sprinkles Cupcake Bakery

Sprinkles Cupcake Bakery
8855 Villa La Jolla Dr
San Diego, CA 92037

Sprinkles cupcakes has been quite famous in California. They claim to be the first gourmet cupcake bakery. They only sell cupcakes. However my experience is of Sprinkles infamous $ gourmet price on their cupcakes and their signature dot design. Nevertheless I had to try them out and see what the hype was about.

The San Diego store is very tiny. The store is always busy with customers and smells very sweet. There’s very limited indoor space but they do have a couple of tables outside.
I wait about 10 min which isn’t bad because when the bakery first opened I heard the wait was 1hr+. You can also order the cupcakes online and they hold promotions for when buy 3 dozen, you get 1 dozen free?


The cupcakes are the size of store bought muffins.
Oddly I thought they were more expensive. They cost $3.50 each.
Caveat- Some of the flavors that they offer are only available on certain days like Banana.

They had wooden forks!

Max and I decided to try a couple of their cupcakes:
Key Lime
Red Velvet (classic)
Chocolate Coconut

Their cupcakes were good portion, the cake was moist, and the frosting was flavored depending on the cake base. I really like their simplistic dot design which designates what flavor the cupcake is. The red velvet was our favorite out of the 3.

I felt there was too much frosting and the frosting was very sweet. I prefer Asian and French style desserts as their frosting tends to be lighter. This frosting was very sweet similar to American grocery market desserts.

Overall, I think Sprinkles is a nice place for a quick dessert. However, I’m unlikely to go back as it was too sweet for my tastes.