Birchbox – April 2012 Earth Day Box ($10/Month)

Birchbox is a monthly beauty subscription service
This means that it will automatically renew & charge $10 fee each month like a magazine will be delivered to your house each month. You can cancel at any time before your next box is shipped.
Birchbox Website Link -Sign Up Online

FAQ about Birchbox
1. $10 a month + free shipping (auto – charge)
2. They deliver 1 box a month
3. You will fill out a survey and it can change what it’s in your box, every box can be different
4. Each box is filled with 4-5 deluxe size samples of high-end makeup, skincare and beauty products
5. Option – Each time you write a feedback review for each item in your box, you get 10 Birchbox points
Birchbox Store 
10o points = $10 dollars to use in the store

FYI – You don’t choose what it’s in your box, it’s a surprise.
After the monthly box is sent out you can’t purchase the current month’s box due to cut-off dates.

April 2012 – Earth Day Box
1. Benta Berry G-1 Exfoliating Cleanser
2. Wonderstruck by Taylor Swift Perfume
3. Willa Clear Face Moisturizer
4. Alima Pure Nourishing Lip Balm
* Le Palais Tea Bags


Willa Clear Face Moisturizer
Right off the bat, I really like how cute and well packaged this deluxe sample is. It looks like a cleanser bottle but actually a clear moisturizer. The product has a very plant/earthy smell to it but the scent goes away after application. The consistency is very water-based and absorbs quickly into the skin. I did feel soft and smoothness after use and I think it would be a good daily moisturizer for oily/combination skin types. However being prone to dryness I don’t think I would end up purchase this one.


Alima Pure Nourishing Lip Balm – Full Size
I’m really pleased to have received this product. I never heard of the brand but I’m always ready to try a new lip balm as my lips are often in the state of being chapped. The packaging very slim and travel friendly. It has a twist up application.
The color I received in Rhubarb is dusty rose with a very strong minty scent. So far I’m enjoying it and I will be doing a lip balm “wars” post soon to tell you more about the throw down.

Taylor Swift’s Perfume in Wonderstruck
This is a very popular perfume and has easily recognizable bottle. I think this scent is complex floral and I can see how it would make as a nice gift. It’s not too strong or too sweet. There’s definite floral and fruity tones to it. I could seeing myself wearing it.

G-1 Cleanser – Defective
So this was a teeny tiny sample…yes that happens once in awhile. However, I think my sample was defective because no product came out of the tube. Thankfully Birchbox has AMAZING Customer Service and they gave me 100 pts when I told them about the situation so basically I ended up getting this box for free. 100pts = $10 Birchbox store dollars. I didn’t get to try it but I’m ok with that.

Extra – Teas
I don’t really drink teas. I felt these were packaged beautifully and looked very exotic. But with that being said I can’t offer any idea whether it was good or bad.

Overall, I’m happy with the April 2012 Box. I was ecstatic with the Birchbox service over the damaged sample.
So I’m sticking with my Birchbox and I seriously can’t wait for the May Box. These boxes are getting addicting!

Birchbox Website Link -Sign Up Online

3 thoughts on “Birchbox – April 2012 Earth Day Box ($10/Month)

  1. I decided to try to Birchbox after stumbling on your blog. I received my Gossip Girl box today. I had a question though, the box only had 2 of the 5 things listed on the card. I received 3 other things in their place. Is that something they do normally, or should I contact them? Thanks for the help and I love your blog!

  2. Pingback: My Beauty Army – April 2012 (Monthly Beauty Subscription $12/month) « Sophie's Dish

Leave a Reply

