Mascarpone Fruit Pots – a summer delight!

I wish it was summer already! The weather is quite on the fritz. One moment it’s gloomy and rainy then another moment we are in submerged in a bliss of clear skies and sunshine. Though I can’t really complain because at least we are almost there.

So first off, this was my first time using mascarpone cheese. I actually had to hit up a few grocery stores and call a few friends to hunt down the stuff. I’m so glad that’s it’s in my life because it’s so freakin’ delicious!

Mascarpone can be made from whipping cream.
I bought mine at Whole Foods Market for around $6 a tub.
I found was sold in the refrigerated aisles.


I found this recipe in one of my magazines and I immediately tore it out as I had to make it.
Ha that’s the beauty of magazines I don’t even feel guilty about it and I’m so glad I did. 🙂


Recipe
Serves 4
(feel free to use other fruit, fresh fruit is the best, just not acidic fruit)
2-3 Mangoes
Raspberries – one carton, 8 oz
Mascarpone 6 oz
Heavy whipping cream – 1 pint
Powdered sugar – 2 table spoons
Lemon zest, optional flavoring + zesting tool recommended





Instructions:
Zest the lemon peel, about 2 teaspoon
Wash & Cut the fruit into bite size pieces
Mash half the carton of raspberries with 2 tablespoons powdered sugar
Using a mixer whip the 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream with the mascarpone cheese into frosting like texture
* Feel free to add more heavy whipping cream until desired texture is received
Place the cream mixture into individual size cups
Layer on the fruit to preference
Sprinkle on lemon zest
Chill for 1 hr in fridge
Serve! 🙂

Leave a Reply

