Birchbox – Jan 2012 Beauty Box ($10/month)

Birchbox is a monthly beauty subscription service
This means that it will automatically renew & charge $10 fee each month like a magazine will be delivered to your house each month. You can cancel at any time before your next box is shipped.
Birchbox Website Link -Sign Up Online

FAQ about Birchbox
1. $10 a month + free shipping (auto – charge)
2. They deliver 1 box a month
3. You will fill out a survey and it can change what it’s in your box, every box can be different
4. Each box is filled with 4-5 deluxe size samples of high-end makeup, skincare and beauty products
5. Option – Each time you write a feedback review for each item in your box, you get 10 Birchbox points
Birchbox Store 
10o points = $10 dollars to use in the store

FYI – You don’t choose what it’s in your box, it’s a surprise.
After the monthly box is sent out you can’t purchase the current month’s box due to cut-off dates.

This is my Jan 2012 Birchbox.
I’ve been a Birchbox subscriber since March 2011. So far, I’ve really enjoyed the service and I find that it adds value for me to try new products, learn about new brands and often I get way more value than I paid for.

With that being said, Birchbox is a bit of toss up because it’s like receiving a present from a friend. Sometimes they are very generous and you receive a full size product, sometimes they show you products you’d wouldn’t other know of but will love  and other times it’s a miss that you aren’t that interested.

Overall, the boxes are nicely wrapped, a good variety of high-end brands and I love getting presents in the mail!

Jan 2012 – Theme is Clarity
I received the following in my Birchbox (can vary customer to customer)
1) Stila eye liner in Peacock
2) Viva La Juicy Fragrance vial
3) VMV hypoallergic all purpose lotion
4) Origins Checks & Balances frothy cleanser
* Treat – (fun non-beauty item) Lara bar in chocolate chip

Below are quick reviews of the products… if anything changes I will add followup 🙂

Stila smudge stick waterproof eye liner in Peacock (full size )
I absolutely thrilled I received this product in my Birchbox. I’ve been looking for a high quality bright eyeliner for awhile. I wore this yesterday and it’s true to its name. The color is opaque, bold, smudge resistant, smooth and easy to apply. The applicator is automatic pencil style. It retails for $20!

Viva La Juicy Fragrance  (vial)
I always wished the Birchbox fragrance came in cute little bottles instead of vials. I am happy that the vial at least has a spray. The fragrance is a blend of sweet floral and fruity scents. It has wild berries, mandarins, honeysuckle, gardenia, jasmine, amber, caramel, vanilla, sandalwood and praline. The full size bottle has adorable packaging! Overall it’s a nice scent but a bit sweet for me.


VMV hypoallergic all purpose lotion (1oz)
It’s all purpose exfoliating lotion. I don’t know why it says exfoliating because it’s doesn’t seem to at all and it doesn’t have beads/chunks in the formulation. It’s a white smooth lotion but it has a faint smells that I don’t particularly enjoy. Overall, it’s just seems like regular lotion. It is 100% paraben free.


Origins Checks & Balances frothy cleanser (1oz)
I’ve been very interested in Origins brand for quite some time. This sample will last you for ages! You only need the tiniest amount of product as it quickly foams when in contact with water. It’s gives me a nice clean feeling without my skin being too tight or oily.


Lara Bar
I mean for a energy bar this  it wasn’t bad at all. It did taste like chocolate chip bar but with like pine nuts?

Overall, I’m very satisfied with all the products I received in Jan 2012 Birchbox.
Birchbox Website Link -Sign Up Online

P.S. You only have until the end of this month to signup for Feb 2012 Birchbox!

Leave a Reply

