Food Travels – What I ate in Minnesota!

People’s Organic Cafe
3545 Galleria
Edina, MN 55435
Type – American cafe focusing on organic & local foods


Quiche and House saladSeasonal – Winter Hash / Vegetables
Dessert – White/Milk Chocolate Panna Cotta
This was the first time I tried panna cotta. It has a thicker consistency, creamy and delicious.

Tea Garden Restaurant
So this is a bit strange…I thought it was called the Tea Garden, branch from the uptown location.
However I can’t seem to find it on yelp. Anyways the restaurant is has amazing upscale Asian decor and the food is great/moderately priced. It’s located in the Twin Cities, Minnesota ~ somewhere? ><

Type: modern chinese cuisine (specialty in spicy dishes)

Spicy Fish Soup
Drunken Beef Noodles
Spicy Beef Soup

Teppanyaki Grill & Supreme Buffet
2216 E Lake St
Minneapolis, MN 55407
Type: Buffet, self serve, sushi/teppanyaki

This place is awesome! I would recommend this buffet and I’ve been to a lot of Minnesotan buffets.
It has tons of variety and the lunch only $7 per person!

My guilty pleasure are these fried doughnuts covered in sugar! Yum!
I really like their apple sushi salad.

Ikea Restaurant (inside Ikea)
8000 Ikea Way
Minneapolis, MN 55425

Usually Ikea is associated with furniture…however I’ve also had a thing for the Ikea food. Perhaps it’s the fact that I always become exhausted in Ikea layout or how much I love ligonberry sauce.  Anyways, their food is tasty and good value as the entrees $4-6 and desserts $1-3. Currently, if you join their free Ikea family card you will get free coffee or tea any time you go to Ikea! Pretty sweet deal.

Spicy Buffalo Chicken Wrap
Swedish Meatballs, Mash, and Ligonberry Sauce ( I love the sauce!)
Cream Cake (aka I want to call it Princess cake)
I think this dessert looks so cute and adorable. It’s wrapped in marzipan and the insides are filled with cream, jam and cake. It’s not too sweet and I really like the layers of flavors. It’s about the size of dinner roll. It was only $1!

Next => Stuff we ate at home
I’ll be doing full recipes on these following dishes as my parents have been teaching me how to cook 🙂

Hot Pot – similar to fondue
You take raw & fresh food then you dip/cook it in the pot. The pot has a broth that is kept simmering while you cook your food. My family has special hot pot pot that has separator in the middle so that we can do both spicy and regular broth. After cooking the food, we make our own dipping sauce to make it extra good.

Common food for hot pot are fish cakes, mushrooms, cabbage, shrimp, tofu, clear noodles, and meat balls.
If you want to learn more about hot pot I’d suggest look at this wiki site as it does a good job explaining it.

Stir Fry Rice Cakes & Vegetables – Nian Gao
~ my mother made this dish and it’s one of my absolute favorites!
* a detailed recipe blog post coming very soon*


My Dad’s Famous Spicy Fried Rice

* a detailed recipe blog post coming very soon*
Stir fry fish filet with assorted vegetables
* a detailed recipe blog post coming very soon*

One thought on “Food Travels – What I ate in Minnesota!

Leave a Reply

