My 2011 Favorites – Best Beauty & Makeup (most under $10)

These is my collection of my personal favorite products for 2011.

[Face Products]

Product Name – CoverGirl NatureLux Foundation in Sandstone
Available – Target, Walmart, Drugstores
Prices – $10+
Application – Squeeze tube, plastic tip
Pros – I tried this on whim as CVS was doing promotion on this item. I didn’t really think I would like it but woah! I love it. I’m actually on my 2nd tube of this which is pretty amazing. The formula is very smooth, easy to apply, medium coverage and very wearable. It doesn’t look cakey and the consistency leans to the liquid side. The packaging is slim and allows a lot of control in application. It’s like my skin but better.

Product Name – CoverGirl Fresh Complexion concealer in Natural Beige
Available- Drugstores
Price – $5
Application – sponge doe foot
Pros – This is perfect shade, texture and consistency for my under eye circles.

Product Name – Garnier Fructis Skin Renew Brush Gel Cleanser
Available – Target, Walmart, Drugstores
Price – $5
Application – Turn bottle top, when the bottle is squeezed, the gel comes out of the brush head
Pros – I find that the facial brush with plastic nubs are rather soothing.
I liked gel formula as it was easy to foam, pleasant light scent and not drying on the face.
It makes my face feel clean and it’s a steal at the price.
Cons – It’s a bit chunky and hard to store. There’s no way to remove the brush head.
Product Name – Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Anti-Frizz Serum (Argan oil)
Available – Target, Walmart, Drugstores
Price – $5
Application – plastic pump
Pros – It’s makes my hair sleekly smooth and has a pleasant scent. The pump gives you control how much oil it dispenses. I use it on my hair dry/wet.

Product Name – Redkin Shine Flash 02 Spray
Available – Ulta makeup stores, Birchbox.com
Price – 2 oz $8
Application – aerosol spray can
Pros – This is a spray that is used to create shine on your hair. I don’t find that it gives my hair more shine but I love using it to give my hair lift/volume and feel lightweight.

Product Name – Estee Lauder Perfume in Beyond Paradise
Available – Estee Lauder counters, Department stores
Price – $48.50 for 1oz
Application – perfume spray
Pros – Motto for this fragrance is that Estée Lauder Beyond Paradise transports you to a perfect world of optimism and wonder. I like how unique this floral scent is to me, it has ability to uplift my mood and I love how simple/beautiful the packaging is.

Fragrance Type: Prismatic Floral

Top Notes

  • Eden’s Mist
  • Blue Hyacinth
  • Orange Flower Templar
  • Jabuticaba Fruit

Middle Notes

  • Laelia Orchid
  • Crepe Jasmin
  • Mahonia Japonica
  • Pink Honeysuckle

Base Notes

  • Natal Plum Blossoms
  • Ambrette Seed
  • Zebrano Wood
  • Golden Melaleuca Bark

Product Name – Essence Gel Liner (London Baby, Midnight in Paris)
Available – Ulta makeup stores
Price – $3.49
Application – gel container, needs a eyeliner brush
Pros – This stuff is WATERPROOF and SMUDGEPROOF! I also really like the London Baby color which is steel gray with silver glitter. It’s a nice alternative to black to eyeliner.
Cons – Very soft, easy to use too much product
Product Name – Physicians Formula Eyebooster Eyeliner in Ultra Black
Available – Target, Walmart, Drugstores
Price – $10.99
Application – plastic brush tip
Pros – Easy to apply, very pigmented, dark, last all day, portable and I do believe that my lashes are getting longer since I’ve started using the product. (10 months? )
Product Name – MAC eye shadow in Dare to Be
Available – MAC Cosmetics
Price – $15
Application – Pan
Pros – The shadow is opaque, pigmented and easy application. I really like the pale pink-coral color.
Product Name – Essence Color & Shine eye shadow in Trip to Venus
Available – Ulta makeup stores
Price – $2.99
Application – pan
Pros – shimmery pink, I like to use this in combination with MAC eye shadow in Dare to Be
Product Name – Lorac Baked eye shadow quad in little black book
Available – Ulta makeup stores
Price – $33
Application – domed pan
Pros – I’ve used a lot of neutrals. This palette blows them out of the water! The colors are pigmented, smooth and look flawlessly when applied. It’s finely milled that the shimmery shades don’t appear chunky or gritty on my lids. It can be used wet or dry. It’s great for the office.
Cons – size of the palette, it’s quite bulky
Product Name – Physicians Formula Eyebooster Eyeliner in Ultra Black
Available – Target, Walmart, Drugstores
Price – $10.99
Application – plastic brush tip
Pros – Easy to apply, very pigmented, dark, last all day, portable and I do believe that my lashes are getting longer since I’ve started using the product. (10 months? )
Product Name – Essence Blending Brush
Available – Ulta makeup stores
Price – $1.49
Application – brush, synthetic
Pros – It’s a great blending brush, lightweight, and super cheap.

Product Name – Wet n Wild Color Icon Palette in Comfort Zone
Available – Drugstores
Price – $4.99
Application – pan
Pros – It’s pigmented, buttery smooth, and compact packaging. The color-icon shadows are one of the best drugstores shadows I’ve ever come across! I love the golden, shimmery brown shade.
Cons – can be difficult to find, darker glittery shades has pigment fallout

Product Name – Wet n Wild Color Icon Palette in I Heart Matte
Available – Drugstores
Price – $4.99
Application – pan
Pros – I find it hard to find a matte palette in the drugstores. This is pigmented, smooth and compact packaging. I enjoy the matte tan shade the best. It’s a great lid color.
Cons – Limited Edition

Product Name – Wet n Wild Color Icon Trio in Walking on Egg Shells
Available – Drugstores
Price – $2.99
Application – pan
Pros – These shadows are pigmented, buttery smooth, and great for traveling. The set has perfect colors for highlighting and neutral eye.
Dupes*  Mac eye shadows – Naked Lunch (eyelid) , Satin (crease), Shroom (browbone)
Product Name – Wet n Wild ColorIcon Blusher in Berry Shimmer
Available – Drugstores
Price – $3
Application – Pan
Pros- This is super pigmented! At first, I couldn’t use it at all because it was so pigmented. It’s too dark for my skin tone as a blush. However, I really been into red/pink eye shadows and I use this on my lids. It gives me a really unique deep strawberry color.
Product Name – Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso
Available – Target, Drugstores
Price – $6.99
Application – baked pan
Pros – This is gorgeous! It is shimmery pale coral color. I like how it’s shimmery without being glittery. It’s easy to apply, pigmented, and smooth. It gives a nice glow to my face.

Product Name – Confetti Nail Polish in Belle of the Ball
Available – CVS Drugstores
Price – $1.99
Application – normal plastic nail polish brush attached to top
Pros – I absolutely love the color! It’s a gorgeous pastel purple that is easy to wear, on trend and it appears to elongate the shape of my nails. The color is opaque, has a proper polish consistency (not too thin or goopy) and not easily chipped.

[Lip Products]
Lip Products
1. Wet n Wild Mega Last in Think Pink
2. NYC Lipstick in Sheer Red
3. MAC Amplified Lipstick in Impassioned
4. Essence Lipstick in Red capret
5 Essence Lip liner in 07 Cute Pink
6. Revlon Super Lustrous Lip Gloss in Pink Pop
7. Essence Stay with Me Long Lasting Lip Gloss in Candy Bar
8. NYX Original Mood Lip Gloss
{Click on Photo to enlarge swatches => }

Product Name – Wet n Wild Mega Last in Think Pink
Available – Drugstores
Price – $2.99
Application – flat lipstick bullet
Pros – This color is matte and super pigmented! I think it’s great for a nude look without looking dead.
Trick* I wouldn’t glide on the application like a normal lipstick but pat on the color.

Product Name – NYC Lipstick in Sheer Red
Available – Target, Walmart, Drugstores
Price – $0.99
Application – Lipstick bullet
Referred by– Youtube’s Emilynoel83 on Beauty Broadcast
Pros – This lipstick is outstanding! I always think it will appear to dark but it really a very wearable sheer red that makes every day life a bit more glamorous. The formula is smooth, not drying and long wearing.
I highly recommend picking up this lipstick and trying it out because I’m sure it won’t disappoint!

Product Name – MAC  Amplified Lipstick in Impassioned
Available – MAC Cosmetics
Price – $14.50
Application – lipstick bullet
Pros- This lipstick smells divine like vanilla cream, packs tons of colors, smooth, and moisturizing!

Product Name – Essence Lipstick in Red Carpet
Available – Ulta makeup stores
Price – $2.50
Application – lipstick bullet
Pros – The packaging is light, portable and easy to carry. I really like how the lipstick bullet can swivel all the way down into the packaging so it won’t get nicked. The formulation is nice on the lips without being too drying. I want to say the color is sheer watermelon red. It’s not too red or too sheer and it’s great for the summer.

Product Name – Essence Lipliner in Cute Pink 07
Available – Ulta makeup stores
Price – $0.99
Application – Pencil
Pros – This is simply a staple in my kit. It’s slim, a dream to apply, lovely color, and so cheap!

Product Name – Revlon Super Lustrous Lip Gloss in Pink Pop
Available – Target, Walmart, Drugstores
Prices – $6.99
Application – Sponge Doe Foot
Pros – The packaging is small, sturdy and fancy looking. I really like how smooth application, moisturizing color is pigmented /opaque and light fruity scent. It functions like a high-end product and pink pop color gives the perfect amount of bright pink to my lips.

Product Name – Essence Stay with Me Long lasting Lip Gloss in Candy Bar
Available – Ulta makeup stores
Price – $2.25
Application – It has the strangest doe foot applicator I’ve ever seen. It’s shaped like 8. I enjoy it.
Pros – I love everything about this gloss. It’s opaque pop of color, perfect consistency, great packaging ( I like how I can see the color their clear tube), portable,  affordable price point, light scent – fruity, feels moisturizing and right amount of weight on my lips.

Product Name – NYX Mood Lip Gloss (original version)
Available – Ulta makeup stores, NYX.com, cherryculture.com
Price – $4.49
Application – slanted tip, squeeze from plastic tube
Pros – I was really intrigued by lower priced “mood” lip gloss. It has a cherry scent/flavor but it’s not overwhelming. It’s easy to use and carry around. It does actually change from a clear gloss to a pink/rosy shade on your lips. The “change” isn’t instant but gradual within a few minutes. However the mood effect always the same and once it’s evolved into the pink shade, it won’t change anymore. I really like the color on my lips, not drying and a great price!

One thought on “My 2011 Favorites – Best Beauty & Makeup (most under $10)

  1. Pingback: A peek into my makeup storage for every day use « Sophie's Dish

Leave a Reply

