Makeup Fails: Skin 79 BB Cream Sampler

BB Cream stands for Blemish Balm. It’s suppose to give your coverage between a tinted moisturizer – foundation. BB creams also offer natural coverage, concealing properties, anti-wrinkle power, skin regeneration ability, skin lightening and UV protection! It’s a hefty list of things to do for just 1 cream.

[Note] Do to it’s formulation, bb creams are usually recommend for light & fair skin individuals.

Anyways, I was piqued to try it. So I ordered some on Ebay and it shipped from Korea. BB creams can be hard to find in USA but it’s all the rage in Asia due to couple of celebrity endorsements.

Skin 79 Sampler Set ($10 dollar shipped)

1) Skin79 Super+ Beblesh Balm (Whitening + Wrinkle Care + SPF25PA++)

2) Skin79 Super+ Beblesh Balm Triple Function (Whitening + Wrinkle Care + SPF25PA++)

3) Skin79 The Prestige Beblesh Balm (Whitening + Wrinkle Care + SPF25PA++)

4) Skin79 Luminous Pearl Beblesh Balm.

The swatches are from L-R are Skin 79 Super BB Cream, Skin 79 Triple Function BB Cream, Skin 79 Prestige, Skin 79 Pearl.
The bottom swatch is my normal foundation in Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 hour Foundation in 102 Warm Ivory.

Skin 79 Issues
-Color
-Shimmer
-Coverage
-Application

I know there’s a lot of  ‘hype’ about Skin 79 products and BB creams in general but I found it just doesn’t do the job for me.
The coloration was off as forewarned. Despite oxidation, it was either too gray toned or too pink. Something was just off.

I wasn’t interested in the Prestige or the Pearl as I found it had a lot of shimmer.

I didn’t feel like the BB cream provided any real coverage compared to a foundation. It was a lot closer to tinted moisturizer as it was very light. However, I’d prefer a tinted moisturizer because with BB cream it’s still makeup and you have to wash it off or you can break out and stuff.

Lastly the most disappointing factor was the packaging! I know this is just for the “sampler” but the tubes were awful.
Some reason as soon as I opened the tube the BB cream would come rushing out. It wouldn’t stop and it made quite a mess. I felt like I lost a considerable amount of product. I’m not sure if it was this particular seller or if during the shipping there was elevation/pressure change. I was not a happy camper. X_X

Anyways, I wouldn’t recommend this product. I think I have to try out some more BB cream to tell you more.
I just sort of hesitant to believe any product can do all the things that BB creams claim. If you have suggestions feel free to comment.

If you want a good foundation I’d recommend Rimmel Lasting Finish. That’s great coverage without being cakey. If you think it’s too much coverage you can always sheer it out by mixing with some moisturizer.

Use Big Crumbs for 36% cashback on all EBay.com purchases Click here for more info.
(it’s a Free, no hassle! way to save! I’ve saved $42 dollars since using them)

One thought on “Makeup Fails: Skin 79 BB Cream Sampler

  1. Cute glasses!
    Yeah, i never trusted BB Creams. I don’t know why ppl go through the trouble to get them shipped when there are so few colors, you cant test them, and there’s already a million foundations in many colors in America.
    You still have to wash tinted moisturizer off before you sleep though, it’s still makeup.

Leave a Reply

