A day in the Life of Sophie: Adventure in the Plaza! (Daiso,Wal-Mart, Target Hauls)

So this is a post about an adventure that I had on Sunday where I explored a nearby plaza.
I’ll be talking about my shopping trips to Daiso, Wal-Mart, Target and quick stop at Pearl Cafe.
Location: Los Altos, CA

* Tad bit blurry, I’m getting ready to go out.

First Stop: Daiso Japan
I love Daiso. We use to have on in San Diego but this one in Los Altos kicks it’s butt! It’s so big, clean, and organized. If you haven’t been in a Daiso it’s like fancier dollar store. Everything is $1.50 unless otherwise noted. A lot of it is imported from Japan so it’s super cute and unique compared to most stuff in other stores. They carry wide range of things from home good, kitchenware, plastic organizers, beauty, clothing, stationery, and snacks. Cherry Blossom Clay Pot ($2 dollars)
I had to pick up this darling clay pot. It’s almost identical in shape and size to the one I purchased at Ranch 99 for $8 bucks. This one is much cuter looking and would be great for cooking (qi ze bao) eggplant dish. The pot comes with a lid. It is a quality product and I guess this is the push I needed to make more Chinese food!
Have a nice day mug $1.50
Say hello to my new office mug! The perk about my new job is there ‘all you can drink’ coffee, organic tea, soda machine and Bean Trees coffee station (similar to Starbucks). It’s perfect for the green initiatives they are pushing in the company (Go Green!) and be sustainable!

Also at Daiso I purchased dessert eraser, strawberry themed stationery set and a special gift for M. Sorry no pictures for these items as they will be given away as surprises.

Next I went to Wal-Mart…
For some reason this Wal-Mart was super crowded and the shelves were very empty. I purchased a green pepper and a can of re-fried beans for a cornbread casserole I’m making later this week. Future note* Do not go to Wal-Mart on the weekends!

My Favorite Store: Target (Got to have Minnesota Pride <3)
Anyways, I really scored at Target this trip. I got  a killer deal on jeans because they were having 75% off sale on select jeans. I highly encourage you to check out your local Targets and see if you can’t snag some yourselves. However forewarned the sizing seemed to be a little wonky.
I got 3 pairs of jeans (Fit 6, Style: Skinny / BootCut, Sz 9, Short) Yeah I know…I usually wear a sz 5/6 in Teens.
Whatever. The best part was that they fit and were only $5 dollar each!!! Plus they have blue jean or khaki pants. Target is cool also because they have regular, long and short sizes. I rarely find short size jeans!

Boots Mango & Babassu Body Set ($20)
Ok first off I seriously love this scent, I love body products, and I’ve been dying to try Boots (UK brand now at Target). I sort of wandered upon this item. I tried the tester and I was hooked, hook, line and sinker! It smells like the most delicious, natural, mango smoothie. I can’t wait to use it and I’ll probably post a separate review on this item.

Body Set comes with:
-Body Wash
-Body Butter (200ml same size as the body shop)
-Body Scrub (400ml, you can’t tell from the packaging but it’s HUGE size)

At first I thought it was a bit pricey for Target item. The boots line is $$ so usually $10-$20+. I think this set was actually a pretty good deal because it’s like getting the body wash for free since butter/scrub each retail for $10.
Glade 4oz candle $5 for 2 sale
I picked up some Glade candles for my new home. I love the spring color scheme they have going on! I got 2 of the new limited edition spring scents in sparkle of spring (lemon-lime) and bring on the blossoms (sweet floral). I also got the Hawaiin Breeze (tropical, pineapple scent) which I’ve been meaning to try. I haven’t lit them yet but based on my first take on the products I really like the scent and packaging of bring on the blossoms the best. Another neat thing is the glade labels are really easy to remove so you can use the candle to  transform into a decor that really brightens up your room. Glade candles last a long time and are pretty fragrant from my personal experience.

*Max’s mum gave me the daffodils candle on top of sparkle of spring. I love it!

Cosmetic Purchases from Target: NYC, Neutrogena, Rimmel and Reach
Some other things I picked up were: Out of Pocket costs $5.5, (saved 60%)
I was able to use coupons from newspaper, target catalina coupon machine and All You Magazine. ^^
NYC double sharpener ($1) (Free)
Reach Floss ($0.97) (Free)
NYC Bronzer in Sunny ($2.97) (after cost $2)
Neutrogena Makeup Remover ($5) (after cost $2)

*Not in picture, see website for color swatch
Rimmel Lasting Finish Pro, I got 2 nail polishes in Bliss & English Rose. *On sale $1.72 each. (after cost $0.72 each)
I love the English Rose color and I’d recommend picking it up.

Finally a girl’s got to eat!!!
I checked out Pearl’s cafe and I got their crispy pepper chicken & milk tea special $5.75
Ok like I was seriously hungry so by time I realized I should take pictures …it the food was almost all gone! Oops! Anyways, it is very similar to Tapex in pricing and style of shop. However, I have to say I wasn’t very impressed. The milk tea lacked flavor and was on the watery side. The portions for the chicken were quite small and certain areas were overly seasoned with powder.
But for a quick snack, I was more than happy to try it out.

That’s it for my adventures on Sunday and I’m so excited about this plaza so more adventures to come.
-S

2 thoughts on “A day in the Life of Sophie: Adventure in the Plaza! (Daiso,Wal-Mart, Target Hauls)

Leave a Reply

