Recipe: cornbread, chicken, and vegetable casserole

I’m trying to take better step by step recipe pictures because I just oogle Pioneer Woman’s blog and she takes the most gorgeous pictures that make you crave food you never thought would be delicious!  Well this my first time so bear with me since it’s an easy recipe.

Recipe: ( I found mine on the back of Stove Top box, but it’s very basic/substitutable)
Ingredients:
1 lb of vegetable medley, it’s easier if they are frozen so you don’t have to pre-cook them. I just used leftover vegetables some were frozen, some were canned, and some were just raw. My mistake was not pre-cooking the carrots! So they were harder than I would have liked.
1 lb of  chopped chicken, cut into small 1in’ cubes
-4 tablespoons of butter (1/4 cup)
-1 Stove top box (I used cornbread variety)
-3/4 cup of milk or 1/2 cup of sour cream
-1 can of cream of chicken
Tools
-Oven, timer
-Cutting Board
-Measuring cup
-Knife, peeler
– 9X 12 pan
( I used a pyrex glass one)
Small Pot with lid
-Small frying pan

Instructions: Vegetables
If you are using raw vegetables make sure to wash, peel, and slice them into dime-size pieces. Remember to slightly cook them or you could adjust the baking time accordingly. However, with frozen vegetables you can by pass this step.
Next: Vegetables
Since I used a medley of raw, canned, and frozen vegetables I just thought it would be good idea to mix them. Skip this step when using a frozen medley package by just opening the bag and putting the vegetable in your 9 X12 pan. Start to pre-heat your oven at 350 degrees!
Make Stove Top stuffing as direct on box (water, butter, pan with lid)
Don’t worry if I can do it, you can too! It’s super easy!

Preparing Chicken
I used a 1lb of chicken thighs. I don’t think what part of the chicken really matters. So remove the chicken skin, safely cut up the chicken into 1in’ cube sized pieces, and lightly saute in cook pan until it’s not pink. I believe the original recipe said that you could just put the chopped raw pieces in the casserole but we preferred to play it on the safe side.
Creating the Casserole
You should already have your vegetable medley in the 9 X 12 pan. Then put in the chicken and pour in the can of chicken and milk into the pan. Mix the mixture around to get a even consistency. Take your stuffing topping put in on top of your casserole mixture and pop it into the oven (350) for 30 minutes. Don’t forget to set your timer!
Viola! Yummy casserole is Done!
It serves around 5-6 people. I really liked how easy and versatile the recipe was. It was my first time using stove top stuffing and cream of chicken which was pretty exciting for me but perhaps not for veteran cooks.

The Outcome was DELICIOUS! It did have a soupier  feeling than I expected. I think it’s very similar to what you would expect chicken pot pie filling to taste like and I like the added texture & flavor the stove topping gave it.

It cost me less than $5 dollars to make! ^_^

Leave a Reply

