Perculair Adventures of Spaghetti Squash

It’s fall and fall always seems to fill the grocery store with tons of different squashs. I’m not a big fan of squashes perhaps because growing up my mom rarely cooked them. But I thought heck why not! So Max and I picked up the spaghetti squash from Henry’s. I think it was on sale which made it easier decision. Recently we saw them at Ranch 99 for $0.99/lb. They are large, long shaped squashes with yellow/orange color.

Spaghetti squash filled with folic acid, potassium, vitamin A, beta carotene and low on calories!
 
Little did we know HOW HARD it is to cut! This is not like the other vegetables I’ve encountered!
So we did some researching…..

1. Spaghetti Squash needs to be baked in the oven for 40min-1hr
2. After baking, cut in half. (actually we cut in half first but I think it would be much easier afterwards)
3. Scope and discard seedy insides (big seeds)
4. Take utensil and scrape out rest of the edible inside (it’s stringy and looks oddly like thin pasta noodles)
5. Do *NOT* freeze because it will lose it’s texture

Actually the inside is what makes me so fascinated because it really interesting texture.
It clumps togethor and looks like it be mushy but has distinctive stringy, crunchy feeling.
I can’t really describe the taste but it’s good.

I decided to cook it simply and delicious from a recipe by Tasty Kitchen. I love Tasty Kitchen in depth photography and easy cooking style. This recipe by cooker : steamy kitchen”s Jaden.

Ingredients:
1 spaghetti squash
Butter or olive oil
3 cloves of garlic
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
Pepper/salt season to taste
Fresh chopped basil or parsley

I satueed 2 tablespoons of butter & minced garlic is sauce pan until aroma is apparant (1-2 min)
Then I add basil/parsley and then slowly toss in the spaghetti squash.
Afterwards sprinkle on the parmesan cheese on the mixture. Viola! Delicious, simple food!

It’s super easy and take like 10min total to prep & make.
It’s surprisingly filling!

Leave a Reply

